Longer wingspan, 4s support

Home Forum 3DLabGANG projects Kaier Falcon Longer wingspan, 4s support

This topic contains 6 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by minhzc minhzc 1 year ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    al1
    Participant

This is a call to the developer,

I bought your plane, printing it now. Loving it. I’m a 3D designer myself and I took a look at the STL files. It would be a piece of cake to make the front bay wider to accommodate a 4s 2200. This would also mean extending the tail boom for counterbalance of course. Also wingspan can be easily extended to 1600 by just adding a few segments either at the wing root or tip. Can I maybe interest you in this upgrade? It would surely make the plane more attractive. 3D printed planes are notorious for being heavy and in order to justify the weight, you need efficiency in a form of a bigger span. Give it a thought. I’m willing to help as much as I can with this endeavor.

al1
    Participant

Really? No response whatsoever? I’m surprised.

minhzc
    minhzc

Hi Al,
    Im sorry the website does not send notification when a topic is posted so I did not know about it.
    As I said in the email sent to you, I will have a modification to make the build easier and lighter but not extending the wing span.
    If you want to make a modification by your self, I will support you by giving the technical drawing of the wing.

Thank you.

al1
    Participant

Thanks for the response, buddy

What is the reason for not going with larger wingspan? I’m just trying to understand the logic, you probably know your plane better than me.

As for improvements, here are my thoughts so far

1. Towards the root, the wing doesn’t need to be split for printing. Parts 1 and 2 combined with part 5 can be made into two pieces instead of three and still fit on most printers.